Logic Pro 9 Control surface questions

hunter_aran

Hi everyone,

I am new here and I was referred to join the group by Doug Zangar. Thanks a lot, Doug! Anyway I have some control surface questions I hope you can all answer, especially since during my searches on the site I noticed many of you use the same or similar gear.

I am using 10.6.8 with Logic 9.1.8 on Macbook Pro 2.3 i7. I use several different controllers/control surfaces depending on where I am and how much gear I feel like pulling out. I have a Korg NanoKontrol2, Novation 25 Sl MKII, and Yamaha Motif XF8 with the FW16E firewire card. This is my first time really trying to hook up control surfaces like this so sorry if anything is super obvious (I obviously didn't get it). I read the control surface documentation for Logic 9 and searched this forum pretty thoroughly over the last few hours and didn't really find the answers I needed.

First, I got the NanoKontrol2 hooked up using the .cs template from Korg directly. It works great and is really handy! Now if I don't happen to be using it, I get this really annoying message every time I start Logic and when the computer wakes from sleep: "Device "NanoKontrol2" is assigned to MIDI port "blah blah blah" which is not present". Then it says to make sure it's connected and if it is to "reset MIDI drivers". That's fine but what if I don't want to use it right now? Am I stuck having these messages keep reminding me this as if something is malfunctioning? This also happens when I use my Motif and don't use it the next time I open Logic. I just figured that I could install various control surfaces, set them up, then use them as needed or not without problem and Logic would recognize what I have connected (or not). Logic also shows the color-coded stripes on the track headers as if the device is there when it is not, which I don't understand.