Mic Placement, phase problems?

ppaulsen

Logician
I have started my own studio, but I am a bit of a beginner. I am recording drums and guitar for a band now. For the the guitar I am using 2 mics, one sm57 almost touching the cabinet and 1 condenser mic 3-4 feets away. I am panning them all to the left and right respectively. I have the same setup for a second guitar. The problem is that it doesn't sound that great in the mix, it's a wall of guitars but not in a pleasing way, sounds very messy. Could it be phase problems? The waveforms from the 2 guitars are of course not aligned because of the difference in distance. Should I move the away mic track forward to make the waveforms aligned? For the drums I have room and overhead mics in addition to the close miced kick, snare etc. Should I move the distant mic track forward there as well? I am wondering what current practise is.

Thanks

Regards
Per

Try this out, it's a favorite technique of mine that will give you the "wall of guitars" that you want. Keep recording the way you are, 1 dynamic pretty close to the grille and 1 condenser a moderate distance back. Record all guitar tracks like this. If you only have one rhythm guitar track duplicate both its corresponding tracks. Zoom in nice and tight and align the waveforms on all 4 tracks that you should have now. Take one pair left and the other right, ensuring that they are not panned identically. Now feel free to even duplicate a couple more and spread them around the audio spectrum a little more. If you decide to go that route try putting a really subtle delay on the new duplicates (Tr. 5-6, etc). Hope this helps, it typically gives me amazing results.