Logic Pro 8 Score adjustments without changing playback?

sunhunter9

Logician
Obviously, if I like the playback of a piece, but don't like certain things about the score, I can make a copy of the project and do whatever to the score. But I want to hear the playback while I work on improving the score, and I am not very open to the idea of having two projects open at once because I have some trouble seeing and get confused, and there are other issues with this. I guess I could just make a bounce and use iTunes for playback, toggling between apps. As I get into studying more about the page editing mode, I realize that I have many edits/marks I can make to score without affecting playback, but the details are pretty fuzzy, particularly concerning the handling of rests, which is one of the main problems. I'm sorry for the vagueness, I'm new at trying to create practical scores for players in Logic 8.02. Any comments by those doing this will be appreciated. Is there a way to temporarily disconnect the score page from playback, or to get an alert when a particular score page edit will affect playback?

Donovan R.
MBP 17" core2 duo 2.4 4gb RAM Logic 8.02

Why not just duplicated the region(s) you want to edit in the score, and assign them to "no output" objects. That way, the originals will play back through their regular track assignments while you work on the copies - which will be silent.

Upvote 0
Eli's suggest should work well - it's funny as it's not one I would have thought of immediately (too many ways to skin the poor proverbial cat in this program).

My thought would be for you to disable the MIDI out of the score editor. Doesn't affect playback, just prevents your note manipulations from sounding.

Upvote 0