Logic Pro 8 Copying tracks (control strips) from song to song

toddsta

Okay, I am new to Logic, so please bear with me. I have created a guitar sound that I really like. It's got about 5 inserts in the control strip and I'd like to copy the entire strip/sound/track to another song.

I've found how to duplicate a track and its setting WITHIN a song/project, but how do I get it to (into) another song and then swap the actual guitar waveform into that sound/channelstrip/track?

Thanks!

Use the "save channel strip setting as" feature to save the channel strip. It will then show up in your pop-up menu for channel strip settings. Do not change the default location when you save it. You can however certainly organize with sub-folders in that location.

If you want the guitar audio file, import or drag in the new project.

Upvote 0
Hey toddsta,

Doug's answer is right on. If you just want to copy it to the new project though and aren't interested in saving it in the long term, there's one other thing you can do.

From that same Channel Strip Settings menu, just "copy" the channel strip setting rather than saving it. Then in the destination project, on the appropriate track, from that same menu, "paste" the channel strip setting. Keep in mind though that this is only in a temporary buffer and will be lost after you quit Logic or copy another setting to the buffer.

Doug's way is better, as it's more easily recallable - but this will do it too.

Upvote 0
Yeah, these guys have the best answers, but wouldn't it be nice to be able to do this en masse for several channels at once? A whole drumkit for example? That way we could record with very little CPU overhead, and then just load up the plug ins for mixing. Or having worked hard to get a sound for one song, transfer that to other songs on the same session.

Roger Jackson
Film Music
Oxford UK

Upvote 0
I'll admit there's no perfect answer, everything is a work-around.