I don't know what I did ???? HELP !

Hello
I am new to this and i got a real problem.
yesterday without warning both of my interfaces ( a 8 channel motu 828k2 and mackie ) stopped allowing input signal to them. I can listen ( in my headphones ) out of them, but can't get an input to save my life. I don't know what happened. all i did was turn it off ,as i have for years wake up the next day and shazaam, nothing...
when I go to my preferences on my iMac , it says:
THE SELECTED DEVICE HAS NO OUTPUT CONTROLS
THE SELECTIVE DEVICE HAS NO INPUT CONTROLS
even though they are both highlighted
help what did I do??????

I am running
Logic express 9
iMac OSX 10.5.8
2.66Ghz Intel Core Duo
4 GB 1067 Mhtz DDr3

I'm guessing you shut down the interfaces before you shut down the Mac...?

The Mac saw the interfaces disappear and tried to reconfigure the audio setup? Just guessing here, but in any case, don't panic. Shut down the Mac, disconnect both interfaces, and then reboot the Mac by itself. Go to Applications --> Utilities--> and launch "Audio MIDI Setup.app". Set the audio input and output to Built-In. Close Audio MIDI Setup, then go play something out of iTunes to verify output is using internal speakers. If not, reboot and test again.

Then launch System Preferences and choose the Sound panel to verify that the internal mic is working and system is set to that. Quit System Preferences and *shut down*.

Audio input/output prefs should be straightened out now.

Now re-connect both interfaces and boot up. Use Audio MIDI Setup to reconfigure your rig and double check in Sound preferences.

Reboot.

Logic should see them now.