Logic Pro 8 Import Audio from Movie

nyah2010

Logician
Hi,

I am trying to edit the audio on a mpg file that I received from a coworker and am receiving an unknown system failure "result = code 2184" when trying to import the audio from mpg video, regardless of whether I try to "Import audio from Movie" or "Import Audio to Arrange". I am new to working with video in Logic and could be doing any number of stupid things. So far I've tried this on both my MBP and Mac Pro, Fireface 800 resetting, checking and re-booting everything I can think of.

My over-all goal is to produce a video that a band can play along with, lyrical cues and all, with an audio backing track remixed with the original audio back into the video. The video is exactly how we want it except for the audio. So far I have the midi track synced perfectly with the video. But now need to fade out the exiting audio in places where I need the audio from what will be recorded from the midi tracks to take over. And then Export Audio to Movie.

Does this seem like a logical way to approach this? or could there be alternatives?

Any thoughts on this or the error messages I'm receiving are greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Nyah2010

can you export the audio from the movie when opened in Quicktime? eg export> sound to wave

.. what does the movie inspector in quicktime reveal about the movies audio format?

QT>window> show movie inspector

Upvote 0
You know - this is going to sound wierd and voodoo like - but I swear it has solved mysteries involving audio extracted from QT movies for me more than once: Copy the file (the QT in your case) to another drive; delete the original, then copy the file back from the new drive. Then try opening, or importingin your case, from this fresh copy.

And of course, maually check the permissions in the Finder. Eyeball it first hand in the Get Info window and unlock it if necessary.

Upvote 0
can you export the audio from the movie when opened in Quicktime? eg export> sound to wave