Logic Pro 9 logic update conundrum

ryguy76

Logician
Hi,

I received my MBA today preloaded with logic 9 express, and then I downloaded the 9.1.3 update. Now, there is 2 executable Logic files in my apps folder. 1 launches 9.0.0 and the other launches the updated version.

Both are around 700mb, so I'd like to delete the 9.0.0 one, but I'm worried it might mess with the program.

1.) why did this happen?
2.) is it safe to delete?

Thanks
 

Markdvc

Administrator
Staff member
1.) why did this happen?
This happens when updating from Logic 9 Versions prior to 9.1.0. It does not happen updating from for example 9.0.0 to 9.0.1, or from 9.1.0 to 9.1.1 or 9.1.2 0r 9.1.3 - in those cases, the Logic version you had installed gets replaced. Personally I though it was a good idea to leave the last version intact. As to why they changed it this one time, perhaps this has to do with Logic 9.1.0 no longer being Universal Binary?


2.) is it safe to delete?
In my experience yes it is, but you may prefer to test this out by simply moving or renaming the old version and see what happens.

kind regards

Mark
 

zerobeat

Logician
Mark is correct. Generally speaking, when there is a major change in the software it doesn't get rid of the old version... just in case you need to go back to it.

The confusion is that the version number isn't placed in the filename all the time. That's because unlike the old update routine, which looked inside the file to see if it merited updating and didn't care about the filename, the new update routine (since maybe 7 years now?) isn't as smart. It only looks at the filename and isn't smart enough to see something called "Logic Pro 9.1.2" as being worthy of updating to, say, 9.1.3. It can only see something called "Logic Pro".
 
Top