Logic Pro 9 Minimum Specs to Run Logic 9

smacclutch

Hi all -

I'm brand new to DAWs, but am currently getting started on scoring a sitcom pilot. I'm also incidentally getting a new computer - a Mac. Yesterday, the salesman at the Apple Store basically tried to up-sell me into buying a 15" MacBook Pro, claiming it was absolutely necessary that I have a QuadCore processor to run ProTools or Logic. Of course, that's about $500 US more than the 13" with a DuoCore. Alternatively, I can just buy an iMac, but since I'm on the road with some frequency for extended periods of time, I'm leaning towards a laptop.

Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

smacclutch

Spend as much as you can. the 17 inch i7 quad core is your best bet for actually having a machine that will have close to enough power to do a show. Add 16 GB ram, and get a couple of fast drives. If you aren't recording any live audio, use the built in audio for an interface, if you are, how many tracks max at one time will you need.

If you really have to score a show, you'll want more than you can afford once you get going.

Upvote 0
Hello,

What software do you plan to use for your scoring project? EXS24 instruments included in Logic? Or a 3rd party product like GPO, EastWest, VSL, etc? Looking at the software makers web site will give you clues regarding the minimum recommended system specs.

Are you "sketching" the score in Logic to be completed on a more powerful system or do you plan to produce the finished project in Logic?