Logic Pro 9 monitoring on multiple headphones - Logic 9 and Presonus Firestudio

jakedelorey

Logician
I recently purchased logic 9 pro and a Presonus firestudio. I am a novice to both. Firestudio came with Studio One recording program which allows the user to stream seperate mixes of your track to multiple headphones all using seperate outs. I really do not want to use Studio One as my recording software, so I am wondering if Logic will allow me to do the same. It's not absolutely necessary to send completely different mixes of the track to each individual player, but I would at least like to have some volume control. So basically how do I send my mix from Logic to the individual outs on the firestudio so that each member of the band can use headphones to monitor it. I plan on doing some "live off the floor" recording, this info would come in very handy. Thanks for anyhelp on setting this up.

I'm guessing the answer has AUX's and SEND's involved, so I am off to find out exactly how they all work and their uses.

cheers,
Jake

Hi Jake,

You are on the right track. Basically, create a send on each track going to, say, Bus 1. Logic will automatically create an Aux channel strip with Bus 1 set as the input. Then route the output of this new Aux channel strip to the separate physical output on your Firestudio that you want to use to feed your headphones.

This is the "easy answer". Obviously there are many more layers of nuance available in setting up headphone sub mixes; but this should get you started and not be too overwhelming to begin with.

Give yourself some time to play and get familiar with Logic and you'll get more comfortable all the mixer routing possibilities.

Tip: Option click the send on each of the channel strips to set them to a default unity value. This way the mix going to your headphone bus will mirror your main mix by default. You can then adjust the individual send levels as necessary to tweak the headphone mix from that starting point.