Logic Pro (X) Mono Output Channel Strip Issues

orcasound

Logician
Need a little assistance and advice... Ive been mixing since 2006 (since 2009 in Logic) with a Dangerous 2BUS LT summing box - the dangerous is configured in 8 stereo Channels (stems) - 1-2, 304, etc. - Mixing in Logic, creating stereo outputs for each stem has been easy - actually never used a template, just popped up whenever I assigned them...
This past week, I sold the dangerous and installed a Rupert Neve Designs 5059 Satelitte Mixer (summing) - Its configured with 16 channels, and they are configured as such.
In the past I would assign (in Logic) kick and snare to output 7-8 and lead vocal and bass to output 5-6 and then on the front panel of the Dangerous I would engage the "mono" button - this would in essence "mono" those stems respectively - which gave me a 6db on those signals... I got really used to that after 7 years.
The new Neve unit is configured as 16 indiv. inputs on the front panel. - mono is achieved by... well, the pan pot. So instead of my kick going to OUTPUT 7-8 in Logic and being mono'd on the Dangerous - I need to send my Kick to OUTPUT 7 in Logic.... well apparently the folks in Germany didnt think we needed 'mono' outputs.

IN logic, on my kick, I assign its output to a Mono OUtput channel 7 .... now logic will create the output channel strip, but it is a stereo ouput (showing input on only the left side), I assume it wants to be stereo by default... I can change it to Mono by clicking the "double circle" - no problem there.
A trip to the environment - shows the output 7-8 strip - and I need to click the oo button to make it mono.

I then move on to assign my snare to mono output 8.... Logic will then create an output strip - with no fader, and it appears that it has now changed the channel 7 output to stereo again...