Logic Pro 9 New to Logic, have some questions

System6music

Logician
OK. I am new to Logic. I have read most of the HUGE manual, and after working in the audio industry for over a decade and having a little face time with this app I have to say that Logic 9 is the DAW for me. I love the layout, effects, included instruments, etc.

I am currently setting up a recording studio and a live DJ rig and I am on a limited budget. I was thinking about getting a Mac mini for my DJ rig, but that's looking like a no go.

Right now I need something I can use on stage and studio. To be clear, I am doing Hip hop stuff, so a lot of VSTs (AUs), plug ins, etc... but not really a lot of tracks. Lots of bouncing down, vocal overdubs will be bounced, etc.

I went to my local guitar center, sat in front of an iMac with 4GB of ram and played around for about 20 minutes. I got the System overload error and I was shocked! I was running 6 VSTs.... I'm not sure what the latency was set too, but that's one reason I wanted to go Mac and w/ Logic because I was to understand that core audio and Macs were just awesome.

So now I am thinking about a new MBP and honestly kind of on the fence.

I can probably only afford 4GBs of RAM at first and upgrade later, and will probably stick with the 5400 rpm drive for now. What can I expect? I know this varies, but is a 128 sample rate with 7-8 VSTs and 6 Vocal tracks with a considerable amount of effects plug ins crazy talk, or is it reasonable?

I have heard that the iMacs are out performing even the Mac Pros at the moment, but I am so afraid to have one of those on stage as we get pretty rowdy. I was going to put my MBP in a plexi glass case on my DJ rig with tons of fans and ventilation and use a wireless mouse and keyboard.