Logic Pro 9 Sends and busses

Edgold

Logician
I've added the new Logic version of the first piece of my Central Park Suite, "The Lake". But I decided to now jump to the last, titled "Angel of the Waters (Bethesda Fountain) as I'm still learning to do things and want to get what I wanted in the first place, in that file.

After I wrote the piece, I added a recording I did from the sounds of the actual fountain which I walked around, getting a variable stereo effect. But what I really wanted was a fixed stereo effect that encompasses the entire field as a sort of surround sound.

I know how to import the audio file, I want to pan it but I don't entirely understand about the busses and sends or whether that's the best way to do this. I notice also a "surround" option but I don't know if it refers to that.

Thanks in advance.

For mp3s of Logic file of "Lake" and Myriad of "Angel":

http://www.egoldmidincd.com/centralpark.html

You might look into a microphone specifically designed for this purpose. Interestingly enough there is a guy who invented a specific technique and microphone and started a company called 'Soundfield'

Check this out:

http://www.soundfield.com/products/sps200.php

It's a computer controlled system via an AU plug-in (works in Logic!)

Feel free to contact me if you need more details : )

Upvote 0
Thanks Eddie. I have solved the problem by other means: I exported the original audio track as a mono track and then used, as an insert, the modulation>spread. Anything else I did seemed to interfere with the mp3 export.

Upvote 0
what I really wanted was a fixed stereo effect that encompasses the entire field as a sort of surround sound.

I know how to import the audio file, I want to pan it but I don't entirely understand about the busses and sends or whether that's the best way to do this. I notice also a "surround" option but I don't know if it refers to that.