Logic Pro 8 Track view?

#1
I assume I clicked something I shouldn't have or didn't click something I should've, but a track I'm trying to overdub on disappears from view. Further explanation-the track is still there, but the previous notes don't appear anymore. So I can see it just fine before I try an overdub, but when I put the track into record it goes bye-bye. Is that normal? If not what should I look for?
tanx!
 

Eli

Logician
#2
I assume I clicked something I shouldn't have or didn't click something I should've, but a track I'm trying to overdub on disappears from view. Further explanation-the track is still there, but the previous notes don't appear anymore. So I can see it just fine before I try an overdub, but when I put the track into record it goes bye-bye. Is that normal? If not what should I look for?
tanx!
This must be a MIDI track if you mention seeing notes. Are you in replace mode? Is there an R button in the Transport that is highlighted? Are you recording in the Arrange Window or in the Score Window? Do you have your prefs set to merge new recordings or to create new regions?
 
#4
First off I appreciate the help Eli.
Yes it is a MIDI track that I'm working on and I am recording in the Arrange window. And the replace button is not highlighted. I had thought for what I wanted to do it would normally be off. I must be looking in the wrong area as I don't see a command for merge or replace in prefs. Would that button in the transport do the same thing, but just not make it permanent?
 

Eli

Logician
#5
First off I appreciate the help Eli.
Yes it is a MIDI track that I'm working on and I am recording in the Arrange window. And the replace button is not highlighted. I had thought for what I wanted to do it would normally be off. I must be looking in the wrong area as I don't see a command for merge or replace in prefs. Would that button in the transport do the same thing, but just not make it permanent?

Go under the main File menu to Project Settings and then to the Recording section. That is where you will find the recording settings you are looking for - wether to merge or create new regions, etc.
 
#6
went there looked at that...

...I was in "Merge only in cycle record" but even when I change to "Merge w/selected groups" I still seem to get the same result.
 

Eli

Logician
#7
...I was in "Merge only in cycle record" but even when I change to "Merge w/selected groups" I still seem to get the same result.
I just did a little test and things seemed to work as expected. I set my recording setting to "merge with selected region". When I recorded with the original region selected, the new material was merged with the original. When I recorded without the original selected, a new region was created.

When you are recording with the original region selected, the new region being created while in record mode does seem to take over graphically while being recorded; but I can still hear the notes playing back from the original region. Once I hit stop it is immediately merged with the old region. Is this behavior different than on your system?
 
#10
In the Arrange Window, you don't see any notes. The little vertical lines do become obscured by the region being recorded, if that's what you mean?

But if you mean trying to watch the notes in an open score window - you need to turn off the "link mode" button first. That way the display will remain on the original region. I have a feeling this is what you are really asking about. Just click the link button off in the score window, and I think you will get what you are looking for.
 
#11
what I meant and what is possible

In the Arrange Window, you don't see any notes. The little vertical lines do become obscured by the region being recorded, if that's what you mean?

But if you mean trying to watch the notes in an open score window - you need to turn off the "link mode" button first. That way the display will remain on the original region. I have a feeling this is what you are really asking about. Just click the link button off in the score window, and I think you will get what you are looking for.
I had thought I had seen, when I first got the program, both in the Arrange and the Piano Roll windows the new part I was playing as well as my old parts. Which is why I thought I might have mistakenly changed something. (I don't ever use the Score window as I don't read music.)
So I guess I can't see both which is/was what I was asking about or trying to anyway.
Because you were so patient with me and attempted to understand what I was trying to say and give me an explanation I did take a look at Logic although normally I don't open that program during the day otherwise I'd get nothing else done ie: like do errands or grocery shopping or pickup the kids (OH! I don't have any kids! lol)
 
#12
Turning off the link mode should work in the piano roll editor as well. Turn it off and the notes will remain displayed when you are recording your new take. It's the little chain link icon in the upper left of the piano roll toolbar.
 
Top