Logic Pro 9 What is the logic behind using Logic

I'm a singer/songwriter/producer with a background in project management and I've been using Protools for my production work for about 10 years. I am wondering what the logic is behind using Logic instead of Protools.

Ummmm, every tool has it's uses. Some people love Ableton Live some Pro-Tools, some are really liking Propeller Heads Record DAW...
Logic has some amazing synth plug-ins that rival any 3rd party bundles and feature an array of really useful plug-ins and now amp simulators for the Guitar players out there...
There are a hundred reasons to use any program over another.
You just have to pick one & see if it lives up to your needs and expectations... :thmbup:

Charlie

Upvote 0
I switch because I thought Logic more adequate from the arranger's point of view. More plug-ins, better MIDI and that stuff. Music sheet at the time.

I had Pro-Tools LE, but some features were missing. To get the real thing, I would of have to buy expensive Hardware. Pro-Tools have a non-compatibility approach that makes me dependant on them (hardware, RTAS Plug-ins).

I guess that's why I switch, but I like Pro-Tools too. I think it better fits the sound tech frame of mind.

Upvote 0
Logic

One important consideration is that you are asking this on a Logic Users group. So any answer you get may be 'Logic-centric' or display a certain bias towards the use of Logic.

Logic is a Mac OS only application, and there are some benefits to having a DAW that is supported by and developed by the designer of the OS. There is a certain Mac-like 'feel' or sensibility inherent in Logic IMO. Apple also bundles some really useful helper applications with Logic. You could say that ProTools has an advantage being cross platform, but in my opinion it's probably an advantage to be Mac only.